Home News Imo gets fourth Speaker in four years

Imo gets fourth Speaker in four years


Imo gets fourth Speaker in four years

Tamarauemi Ebimini

The Imo Assembly on Monday elected Hon. Emeka Nduka (APC Ehime Mbano) the new Speaker following the resignation Kennedy Ibe (APC Obowo).

Nduka was elected during a closed-door special sitting presided over by Deputy Speaker, Hon. Amarachi Iwuanyanwu (APC Nwangele) called for nominations after reading the letter of resignation.

As of the time of filing the report, the reason for the former Speaker’s resignation was not known. However, it was gathered that he was forced to resign.

It was gathered his resignation may not be unconnected with the alleged misappropriation of fund.

Former Speaker, Chiji Collins, was impeached by the cabals followed by
Paul Emeziem, who was replaced by Ibeh.

The new Speaker was nominated by Majority Leader, Hon. Kanayo Onyemaechi (APC Owerri West) and seconded by Hon. Uju Onwudiwe (APC Njaba).

Nduka is the fourth speaker of the ninth House following the impeachment of two previous Speakers and Ibe’s resignation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here